Helping children in hospital through music

A special concert this weekend will add to a suite of music available to help children in hospital.

The Hush Music Foundation and the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra have brought together 12 of Australia's finest composers to create the latest album in the Hush Collection.

'The Magic Island' is the boldest and biggest undertaking yet for the Hush Music Foundation.

This Saturday 7 December, The Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra and the Hush Music Foundation will present a special concert in the Federation Concert Hall, Hobart at 7.30pm to launch the album.

Never before have a full symphony orchestra and so many outstanding composers been involved in creating an album for the Hush Collection.

"Hospital can be a scary place for children and families" – from this basic idea has grown an extraordinary collaboration between Dr Catherine Crock of the Royal Children╩╝s Hospital in Melbourne and many of Australia's leading musicians. A physician and mother working with children with cancer, Dr Crock teamed up with musicians of different backgrounds and styles to create music that was soothing and relaxing for the children and their families.

Since its inception in 2003 and through the generosity of performers, composers and engineers donating their time and skills, the Hush Music Foundation has released twelve popular albums of gentle jazz and classical instrumental music that are available in hospitals throughout Australia and for sale nationally and online.

The concert, featuring conductor Benjamin Northey and pianist Caroline Almonte, will be broadcast live on ABC Classic FM and presented by Emma Ayres. All proceeds from the concert will go to the Hush Music Foundation, which supports children's hospitals throughout Australia.

To book tickets, go to or call 1800 001 190.

For more information, visit the HUSH foundation and TSO Facebook pages, or Youtube via the links below.

The composers whose pieces feature on the album are:

Peter Sculthorpe AO OBE

Brenton Broadstock

Ross Edwards

Iain Grandage

Paul Grabowsky

Stuart Greenbaum

Maria Grenfell

Matthew Hindson

Elena Kats-Chernin

Graeme Koehne

Paul Stanhope

Nigel Westlake

4 December 2013